top of page

Blog Post #4- BBG Ch. 8

I still find it difficult to get myself to write once I have an idea. So, I gravitated towards Chapter 8: Composing in Genres. This chapter gave advice on making a rough draft and even provided a model of a rough draft. They even mentioned freewriting within a certain amount of time as a way to write the first draft, which we had done in class yesterday. I believe this exercise was extremely helpful and would help with my writer’s block, and I will be using this method when I work on my projects. I really liked how this chapter incorporated models of composing in a genre from creating a rough draft to actually composing your genre piece. I am a visual person. I prefer to have examples or models along with explanations. Explaining how to do something is one thing, but being able to actually see an example allows for a more thorough comprehension of what needs to be done and how it needs to be done. Although my genre piece may be completely different from the model’s genre, I will be able to follow the process of how a genre piece is devised from the rough draft, all the way to the finished work.


bottom of page