top of page

Blog #5- Chapter 1 "Understanding Genres"

Before reading chapter one, I had a vague understanding of what a genre was. This chapter explains what a genre is, and how to choose one by breaking down concepts, providing checklists, and even supplying detailed models to ensure that the readers grasp the information given. Within this chapter, it talks about how a writer chooses a genre depending on the purpose for composing and rhetorical situation, and the audience. The chapter also explains the elements of genre. The three elements of genre are style, design, and sources. Style was the most obvious to me because, it is a specific technique an author uses to further distinguish a composition in one category, from a composition in another, and to ensure that the purpose of the composition is clear to the audience. I never considered design as an element of genre, but I now understand how the format and visual features of a composition is a way for the writers to connect to the audience and meet their purpose. Sources as an element of genre is also important because it shapes the composition. It is used as reference for information or perspectives that would help the writer get their message across and to connect with the audience. The information provided is very helpful for me because I now have a fuller comprehension of genre, and will be able to utilize it as I compose a personal narrative for my project.


bottom of page