top of page

Blog #6- "Consider the Lobster

At first, “Consider the Lobster” seemed like a research article that I probably wouldn’t choose to read for an enjoyable past time, but as I read, I found myself intrigued and engaged throughout the entire article. This composition definitely steps outside of the box of what would be considered a research genre, and I believe that this is what kept it interesting. This article not only provided in-depth information on the festival, lobsters, and whether or not they feel pain, but it also is written as if it were a review or commentary from different perspectives. As I read the article, I was at first surprised at the sudden change in perspectives regarding the Maine Lobster Festival, as well as the morality of cooking lobsters alive. These changes in perspectives made it seem as if there was a different writer or narrator presenting a different view on the topic. I believe this challenged my idea of a research genre because its unusual format and style as a research article uses aspects of a personal narrative and journal, which proved to be a very effective way to present the research and the two sides. This enables the readers to not only gain new information presented in a research genre, but also to have a connection with the passage as the experiences and stances are told from multiple, seemingly credible viewpoints. This research article uses this unique format and style to make an appeal to logos, ethos, and pathos. This technique was done as a way to provide information to support the argument, express credibility for the writer’s view, and to establish a connection with the audience and persuade them.

Although I’m not a vegetarian, I do not like to think about how animals, that were once alive, came to be my next meal. Lobsters are one of a few animals I don’t eat. One of the reasons why I don’t eat lobster has to do with the less than humane way that it is prepared. So, at first, I could not connect with those who attend this festival where a large amount lobster is captured and prepared for the feast. While reading this article, I was able to understand why people who love to eat lobster, or those who go for the sake of community tradition, attend this event. Not only could I understand the view of those who are for attending MLF and eating Lobsters, but those who are completely against it. The counterargument expressed a distasteful view of the festival as well as a very PETA-like view on the way lobsters are prepared for consumption. The end of the article is done in a way that left me, as well as the audience to question their stance on the subject matter. Although I don’t eat lobster, I could relate to those who love eating lobster, but try not to think about the inhumane way it was cooked and prepared, when I eat meat. This article left me questioning whether I could be selfish and justify my omnivorous ways, or consider going vegetarian.


bottom of page